logo
Call Now for Case Evaluation

(718) 852-8047

(800) 609-4545

If you were driving your vehicle and caused the death of someone else, you may be held criminally liable, even if the incident was entirely an accident. Most often, this charge is levied against drunk drivers who cause deadly collisions. Here’s what to know about vehicular manslaughter DWIs and how to get the legal representation you need after an arrest.

Vehicular Manslaughter In New York Defined

In New York, vehicular manslaughter is defined as causing the death of another person while driving your vehicle illegally or with wanton disregard for the safety of others. This charge can apply to deaths caused by reckless driving, drunk driving, speeding, road rage accidents, distracted driving accidents, and racing accidents.

Potential Penalties For Drunk Vehicular Manslaughter

First and foremost, you face jail time if you are convicted of vehicular manslaughter in the state of New York. You may qualify for probation if the offense is charged in the second degree, or you could face up to 7 years in prison. If charged in the first degree, you could face up to 15 years, and there is the potential of up to 25 years if the offense is considered aggravated.

Beyond jail time, you could be forced to pay thousands of dollars in fines, complete hundreds of days of community service, have your license suspended, have to face a victim impact panel, and be ordered to complete mandatory alcohol counseling and driver’s education courses.

Strategic Defenses You May Be Able to Use

Depending on the circumstances surrounding your case, you may be able to use one of the following defenses:

  • The breathalyzer results were not accurate and there is no other proof that you were intoxicated.
  • Your alleged intoxication was the result of a medical condition.
  • Something else caused the accident and the death of the victim(s).
  • Law enforcement violated your constitutional rights when collecting evidence against you, therefore making the evidence inadmissible in court.

Reach Out to Brooklyn, NY DWI Lawyer Mark Cossuto Today

If you were arrested for drinking and driving in the state of New York, you need an experienced defense attorney on your side. You risk jail time, hefty fines, the loss of your license, and a permanent criminal record if you are convicted. Call Brooklyn DWI attorney Mark Cossuto today for a consultation at (718) 852-8047 or toll free at (800) 609-4545.